JCK Library
Site Index | Contact Us  

Visit the UCM Home PageLibrary Catalog People Library Departments Online Resources / Databases Virtual Reference

Electronic Resources Alphabetically

Information on accessing databases off campus.

Databases by Subject

Don't know which database to seach? Try Central Search!

A::B::C::D::E::F::G::H::I::J::K::L::M::N::O::P::Q::R::S::T::U::V::W::X::Y::Z

A
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
ACM Digital Library :: Access to full text ACM journals and citations to conference proceedings
Association of Computing Machinery
Full Text
Academic Search Complete :: Multidisciplinary database of scholarly and peer reviewed journals dating back to 1975
EBSCO
Mostly
Full Text
Academic Universe :: Business, legal, medical, and reference resources, including full text court cases
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
Accounting & Tax with Standards :: Accounting standards from FASB, GAS, and IASB
Proquest
Full Text
Accounting Literature :: Selection of accounting information sources
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
African American Studies Center :: Access to several reference materials in African American Studies
Oxford
Full Text
AGRICOLA :: 3 million agricultural citations, 1861-present; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
AGRICOLA :: 3 million agricultural citations, 1861-present
US Dept. of Agriculture
Citations
Alt HealthWatch :: Alternative health database of journal articles, pamphlets, reports, & proceedings
EBSCO
Many
Full Text
AltPressIndex :: Index of journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
AltPressIndex Archive :: AltPressIndex archives covering 1969 to 1990; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
America: History and Life :: Indexes US and Canadian history, humanities, and social science journals
EBSCO
Some
Full Text
American Chemical Society Publications :: Full text access to 27 publications
American Chemical Society
Full Text
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries :: Primary source databases of diaries, letters, and memoirs from the Civil War era
Alexander Street Press
Full Text
American Memory :: Assortment of online collections on various American history topics from the Library of Congress
Library of Congress
Some Full Text
American Society for Microbiology Publications :: access to 11 professional journals
American Society for Microbiology
Full Text
Applied Science & Technology :: Index of journals in aviation, construction, electronics, fire prevention, manufacturing, and telecommunications
WilsonWeb
Citations;
Full Text
1997-Present
ATLA Religion Database :: Indexes periodicals, book reviews, and essays; focus is Christian religion and theology.
EBSCO
Some Full Text
Art Full Text :: Indexes articles relating to the fine arts, as well as art pictures in periodicals
WilsonWeb
Some
Full Text
Arts and Humanities Search :: Citations for materials from social science and science resources
FirstSearch
Citations
ArtSearch :: Job listing in performing arts and allied fields ONLY at JCKL Reference
TCG
Directory
ARTstor :: Database of fine arts images; can be used in internal slide shows or download low-resolution images
ARTstor
Images
Article 1st :: Index of articles from nearly 13,000 journals, 1990-present
FirstSearch
Citations
B
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
BasicBIOSIS :: Journal index covering virtually every life science discipline including biology, medicine, and technology; coverage includes current and most recent four update years. ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations and Abstracts
Biographical Information :: Background information on many famous people
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
Biography Reference Bank :: Biographical information database
WilsonWeb
Full Text
Biological and Agricultural Index :: Citations in agriculture, biology, animal sciences, ecology, food sciences, forestry and others
WilsonWeb
Citations
Biological Sciences :: Index of articles relating to biology and medicine
CSA
Citations
Biology Digest :: Non-technical digests in biology, ecology, and health, 1989-present
CSA
Citations
Abstracts
BioOne.1 :: A collection of peer-reviewed bioscience research journals of small societies and noncommercial publishers.
Amigos
Full Text
Blackboard :: UCM's online course system
UCMO
 
Books in Print Patron :: Indexes current in print materials; simpler interface than professional version
Bowker
Citations
Books in Print Professional :: Indexes and reviews current in print media materials (books, audio, video, etc.)
Bowker
Citations
BusIndustry :: Facts, figures, and key events for public companies; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
BusManagement :: Practical aspects and approaches to management, 1995-Present; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
Business and Company Resource Center :: Research and comparisons of companies; includes stock quotes, news, reports, and other current information
InfoTrac/
Gale

Many
Full Text

BusinessOrgs :: Directory of organizations serving business and industry; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Full Text
Business Source Complete :: Indexes journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more
EBSCO

Many
Full Text

C
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Cabell's Directories :: Directories of publishing information in education, business, and psychology
Cabell's
Full Text
Career and Technical Education :: Search vocational and technical periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum
Proquest
Full Text
CCOHS Academic Support Program :: Provides MSDS's, info on chemicals, and citations to toxin and chemical journals
CCOHS
Full Text
Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) :: Business database for historical stock market data; ONLY in Harmon Computer Commons
CRSP
Data
 
Checkpoint :: Web-based tax and accounting resources and information
Thomson RIA
Full Text
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database :: Reviews of children's books and other media; includes MARC catalog records
Children's Literature
Full Text
Choice Reviews Online :: 100,000 book reviews appearing in Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Librarians since 1988
American Library Association
Full Text
CINAHL :: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature; Indexes over 800 nursing journals
EBSCO
Some
Full Text
ClasePeriodica :: Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
College Source :: College catalogs online
Career Guidance Foundation
Full Text
Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online :: Database of places, physical characteristics, political properties, and natural and agricultural resources
Columbia University Press
Full Text
ComDisDome :: Indexing and abstracts for 125 journals of audiology and speech-language pathology
ContentScan
Abstracts
Communication and Mass Media Complete :: authoritative source for research in communication and mass media
EBSCO
Some
Full Text
Communications Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) :: article abstracts, books, and other resources related to human communication studies
CIOS
Abstracts
Communication Studies: A SAGE Full Text Collection :: Full text of 16 communication journals
CSA
Full Text
Company Dossier :: Important company information including location, executives, and financial information
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
Company Profiles :: Find companies based on a variety of criteria
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
Conference Papers Index :: Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings worldwide
CSA
Contemporary Women's Issues :: Full text facts, reports, and articles on womens' issues 1992-present ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
Country Profiles :: Business analysis and country information
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
CQ Electronic Library :: Current information, original content, statistics, analysis, and comprehensive coverage of the US government
CQ
Full Text
Credo Reference :: Online access to over 240 full text reference books
Credo
Full Text
Criminal Justice Periodical Index :: Full text of 45 criminal justice journals and abstracts for over 100 other titles
Proquest
Some
Full Text
Criminology: A SAGE Full Text Collection :: Full text of many criminology journals
CSA
Full Text
CultureGrams Online:: Contains 25 information categories for each of more than 200 countries.
ProQuest
Full Text
D
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Disclosure :: Directory information on companies publically traded on U.S. Exchanges; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Full Text
Dissertation Abstracts :: Dissertation abstracts from 1861-present; masters theses from 1988-present; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Abstracts
E
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Ebook Collection :: Hundreds of electronic books covering the humanities
ABC-CLIO
Full Text
Ebooks :: Catalog of online electronic books available from libraries worldwide
FirstSearch
Citations
EBSCO Animals :: In-depth information on animals, including nature and habitat of familiar animals
EBSCO
Full Text
EBSCOhost :: List of available EBSCO databases
EBSCO
Many
Full Text
EBSCOhost MasterFILE Premier :: Access to 1200 periodicals covering nearly all subjects
EBSCO
Many
Full Text

EconLit with Full Text :: Full text of over 400 economics journals, 1969-present

EBSCO
Full Text
Education: A SAGE Full Text Collection :: Full text collection of education journals
CSA
Full Text
Education Full Text :: Indexes periodicals, yearbooks, and books relating to education. Full text coverage begins in 1996
WilsonWeb
Many
Full Text
Education Research Complete :: K12 to higher ed database indexing over 1500 journals, 700 full text
EBSCO
Some Full Text
Education Index Retrospective :: Indexing of education literature from 1929-1983
Wilson Web
Citations
Educational Administration Abstracts :: Indexes areas related to educational administration, leadership, management, educational , and other areas.
EBSCO
Citations
eHRAF Collection of Archaeology :: Documents relating to the world's history, organized by archaeological traditions Yale University
Full Text
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography :: Cross-cultural database with 350,000 pages of information relating to all aspects of cultural life Yale University
Full Text
Electronic Collections Online :: An OCLC collection of scholarly journals
FirstSearch
Citations
Encyclopaedia Britannica :: Online version of the popular print encyclopedia; includes dictionary, thesaurus, quotation dictionary, and other reference resources
Britannica
Full Text
ERIC :: Abstracts and indexes journal articles and research reports in education, 1966-present
EBSCO
Some
Full Text
ERIC :: Abstracts and indexes journal articles and research reports in education, 1966-present
US Dept of Education
Citations
Abstracts
Essay and General Literature :: Citations of essays and articles from collections of essays and miscellaneous works.
WilsonWeb
Citations
Ethnic News Watch :: Database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press
ProQuest
Full Text
EU Law :: European Union laws
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
F
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Federal Case Law :: Search case law opinions from all of the major U.S. Federal Courts
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
Federal Code :: Federal Code, U.S. Constitution, and court rulings
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
FirstSearch :: List of available FirstSearch databases
FirstSearch
Citations
Full Text Sources Online :: Directory of over 18,000 full text sources online
FSO
Directory
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia :: 25,000 encyclopedic entries; searchable by subject or keywords within the entry
EBSCO
Full Text
G
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Gale Literary Index :: Index of Gale literature series; search by author, title, nationality, birth or death dates
Gale Group
Citations
Gender Watch :: Women's issues from an international perspective; interdisciplinary
ProQuest
Mostly
Full Text
GEOBASE :: Records to worldwide literature on geography and geology, 1980-present; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
GeoRef :: Geoscience database indexing over 3,000 journals
EBSCO
Citations
Get A Case :: Search for Federal and State legal cases by name and citation
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
Global Market Information Database :: Comprehensive resource for international market analysis; includes global research reports, statistics and consumer market size data
Euromonitor
Full Text
GPO Access :: Assists the public in locating information from the Federal Government; uses the FirstGov search index
GPO
Some
Full Text
Grove Art Online :: Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), plus updates.
Oxford University Press
Full Text
Grove Music Online :: Updated entries from the The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed), New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed)
Grove
Full Text
H
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Health and Safety Science Abstracts :: Citations of research in public health, safety, and industrial hygiene; 1981-present
CSA
Citations
Abstracts
Health Source: Consumer Edition :: Health, nutrition, and professional health care publications and journals; full text of health pamphlets, books, and essays
EBSCO
Full Text
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition :: Full text from over 450 scholarly journals in nursing and allied health
EBSCO
Full Text
Historical Abstracts :: Covers world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450-present; indexing for 2,000 journals and books
EBSCO
Citations
Historical New York Times :: New York Times full text, full image for 1851-2002
Proquest
Full Text
Hoover's Online Directory :: A corporate directory for more than 16 million public and private companies; Includes company profiles and financial data
Hoovers
Directory
Humanities E-Books :: Full text access to over 1700full text books in the humanities; search or browse by author, title, or subject
American Council of Learned Societies
Full Text
I
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
In the First Person :: Searches freely available letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies
Alexander Street
Full Text
International Index to the Performing Arts :: Indexes international periodicals on the performing arts
ProQuest
Some
Full Text
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) Source :: Text of Songs
IPASource.com
Full Text
iPoll :: United States public opinion poll results, 1935-Present
Roper
Full Text
Iter :: Bibliography citing literature about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)
University of Toronto
Citations
J
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
JSTOR :: Historical journal articles in the humanities, social sciences, business, ecology, and general science
JSTOR
Full Text
K
 
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Kids Infobits :: Kids InfoBits is a database designed especially for students in kindergarten through grade five
Thomson
Full Text
Kinesiology Publications :: Collection of master's theses and dissertations in kinesiology. Pdf files are free; other records available on microfiche in the library
University of Oregon
Some Full Text
L
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Law Reviews :: Search more than 200 law reviews and journals concentrating on national and state issues of significance
Lexis-Nexis
Full Text
Learning Express Library :: Job and career test preparation database, including sample GRE, GMAT, and LSAT tests
Learning Express
Tests
Lexis-Nexis :: Provides a variety of legal, reference, medical, and governmental resources
Lexis-Nexis
Mostly
Full Text
Libdex :: Worldwide directory of library homepages, OPACs, Friends of the Library pages, and library e-commerce links
Northern Light
Directory
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts :: Index of more than 600 periodicals covering library science and related fields
EBSCO
Some Full Text
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text :: Indexes over 230 library and information science periodicals, proceedings, theses, and pamphlets; full text starts 1997
WilsonWeb

Some
Full Text

Library Literature Retrospective :: Index of library literature from 1905 to 1983.
WilsonWeb
Some Full Text
Literature Resource Center :: Resources, including an encyclopedia and timeline relating to literature
Gale
Some Full Text
M
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
MAS Ultra - School Edition :: Current event information dating back to 1975, including pamphlets, photos, images, and encyclopedias. Intended for high school audience.
EBSCO
Full Text
MasterFILE Premier :: Multidisciplinary database of general reference publications, maps, flags, and photos.
EBSCO
Full Text
Math Sci Net :: Mathematical reviews and current mathematical publications from 1940-present
American Mathematical Society
Citations
MEDLINE :: Abstracted articles from 3,500 medical journals, 1993-present
CSA
Citations
Abstracts
MEDLINE :: Abstracted articles from 3,500 medical journals, 1965-present
National Library of Medicine

Citations
Abstracts

Mental Measurements Yearbook :: Database of consumer-oriented test reviews including descriptive information, professional reviews, and reviewer references.
EBSCO
Full Text
Military and Government Collection :: Current news for all branches of the military and government; includes some academic journals and other content
EBSCO
Some
Full Text
Mitchell On Demand 5 :: Online automotive repair information; Only with Internet Explorer.
Mitchell1
Full Text
MLA Bibliography :: Indexes articles on modern languages, literature, linguistics, communication disorder, and folklore
EBSCO
Citations
MLA Directory of Periodicals :: Detailed information on over 7,100 journals
EBSCO
Citations
N
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
National Fire Codes :: Online access to current and proposed fire codes from NFPA; logout when finished
NFPA International
Full Text
Naxos Music Library :: Online access to audio recordings of thousands of classical music as well as selections from Jazz and World/Folk music.
Naxos
Music
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) :: Indexes reports, government publications, books, and some journal articles from 1968-present
U.S. Dept. of Justice
Citations
Abstracts
Net Library :: Collection of over 5,000 full-text books in many subjects
NetLibrary
Full Text
NetTrekker d.i. :: Aids educators in differentiating instruction. Online resources are educator-selected, organized by readability, and aligned with state standards
Thinkronize
Web Directory
NewsAbs :: Newspaper abstracts from over 50 national and regional papers, 1989-present; ONLY at JCKL Reference
FirstSearch
Citations
Abstracts
Historical New York Times :: New York Times full text, full image from for 1851-2002
Proquest
Full Text
Newsbank :: Provides indexing and selected full text articles from the KC Star (1991-Present), the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1988-present), and the Springfield News-Leader (1999-Present)
NewsBank
Full Text
North American Women's Letters and Diaries :: Primary source database of letters and diaries of 1,325 women
Alexander Street Press
Full Text
NTIS (1990-Present) :: Index of government publications and other products issued by the NTIS since 1990
National Technical Information Service
Citations
Abstracts
O
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center :: Provides information on social issues and current events
Gale Group
Full Text
Ovid Nursing Collection II: Lippincott Journals :: Collection of nursing journals to search by keyword, author, title, or browse though by issue
Ovid
Full Text
Oxford English Dictionary :: A historical dictionary that groups the various senses of a word in chronological order along with quotation evidence.
Oxford University Press
Full Text
Oxford Reference Online: The Premium Collection :: Contains text from over 100 dictionaries and an encyclopedia in a cross-searchable database; logout when finished
Oxford Reference Online
Full Text
P
Database
Provider
Text
Off Campus
PapersFirst :: Index to papers presented at conferences, 1993-present
FirstSearch