Refworks Database Tutorial
ABC-CLIO
For ABC-CLIO databases, when you get to the results page, there is a line of links below every result. Click "Export Options".

This brings you to the output page. Check your preferences at the top and then make sure the bullet by the RefWorks logo is checked. Then hit the send button at the bottom of the page.

Now, you'll be sent to a page reminding you that you are exporting your results. Click on "Export to RefWorks".

CSA
In CSA databases, at the results screen, there is a link for exporting to Refworks at the top below the article identifier tabs. Click the link once you have selected the citations you wish to export.
The next screen asks if you want to export your marked records or all of the records for your search. Make sure a bullet is selected, and then click the "Export to RefWorks" button.

EBSCO
Once you get to a results screen in an EBSCO database, you need to manually add the citation to the folder. To do this, you click on the grey folder labeled "Add". The folder will then turn to color and appear to have a document in it. At the top of the citation list, there will be a link that indicates the folder has items. Click on this link to enter the folder.

You see a listing of all of the citations in your folder. Next, you want to click "Export":

Next, make sure that "Direct Export to Refworks" is checked and click the save button.

FirstSearch
At a FirstSearch results screen, check which articles you want to export, and click the "Export" button at the top of the results:

At the next screen, make sure the Refworks Bullet is checked and press the "Export" button.

JSTOR
From the results screen, click "Save Citation" for any reference you want to put into Refworks:
Alternatively, you can use "Select All Citations on This Page" to the right of the references. When you are ready to export your references, "View Saved Citations":
From here, you want to export the citations. Selecting "Directly export citations into Refworks" will automatically export your citations.
Proquest
From the results screen, check which references you want to export. At the top of the citations, there is an "Export" link to click.
Next, specify that you want to export to Refworks:

Your citations will automatically be exported.
WilsonWeb
Select the citations you want to export, and then click the "Exporting/Citing" button in the left blue column:
Then, expand the "Export to bibliographic software" bar by clicking the little "x" to the left of it. Select which records you want downloaded, make sure the "Refworks' Direct Export Tool" bullet is checked, and then click "Export".

Bowker
From the results screen, select the records you want to export, and click the "Download" tab:
A pop up window will appear asking what format you want to download to. You want to select "Standard Download" and click "Go" in the upper right corner:
Next, you select what file format you want (ASCII) and what you want included in the record. Select whatever you want included and click "Go":

Save the file in a place you wil remember it, and log into Refworks. To import the record, go to the "References" menu and select "Import":

On the next page, you need to specify BooksInPrint as the Database, and then attach the file you want to import:

After clicking import, your citation will be added to your Refworks database
Ovid
At the results page for Ovid Journals, check the boxes beside the citations for the references you want to export. Then click "Results Manager". The Results manager is also located at the bottom of every page:

The results manager gives you many options upon which to save. Select whatever options you want and be sure that the result format is "Ovid". The "Sort Keys" option is not needed. When you are ready, click "Save":

On the next page, select a linefeeds option based upon what operating system you are using. Then click continue and save the document to a place you will remember:

Log in to Refworks. In the References menu, select "Import":

On the import page, the data source is "OVID" and the database is "Journals@Ovid Full Text". Browse to wherever your saved file is, and click "Import" at the bottom of the page:

Your references are automatically imported into Refworks:

Quest
At the search results screen in Quest, check which titles you want to export to Refworks and click the "Save Marked Records" button above them:
Once you have saved the records, click the button saying "E-mail/Save/Print" above the search field:

Select which format you want for your citation. Full Display is recommended, as it fills in more information. Next, under "Send List To", choose Local Disk and click the Submit button"

Save the file to a place you will know where it is (Desktop is recommended):

Log into Refworks. Under the "References" heading, choose "Import":

Select "Innovated Interfaces INNOPAC" as the Import Filter and "MOBIUS Union Catalog (Full Display)" as the database. Browse to where you saved your exported file and submit.

Your references from Quest are now in Refworks!

04-27-07
JE
|