Library Advisory Committee at the University of Central Missouri


Library Advisory Committee
2003 - 2004 Annual Report


Members Serving on LAC for 2003-2004: Dr. Charles Schwepker - Chair (Harmon College of Business Administration), Dr. Ken Wood (College of Arts & Sciences), Ms. Allison Norwood - Vice-Chair (College of Applied Sciences and Technology), Dr. Odin Jurkowski - Secretary (College of Education and Human Services), Ms. Davie Davis (Library / Academic Support), Dr. Charles Dahlstrom (Professional Staff), Ms. Mary Heater (Support Staff), Ann Richardson (Grad. Student Association), Ms. Mollie Dinwiddie Ex Officio (Interim Dean of Library Services).

Attendance at the meetings is reported in the LAC minutes. There were four committee meetings held during the 2003-2004 academic year (8 members present on September 29, 2003, 7 members on October 27, 2003, 7 members on November 24, 2003, and 7 members on January 26, 2004). Additional subcommittee meetings were held concerning the preparation of the Library Materials Budget Proposal.

The following items were discussed during LAC meetings:

A. Library Materials Budget

  1. At Dean Dinwiddie's request, the committee reviewed the acquisitions budget allocation.
  2. Dr. Jurkowski (chair) and Ms. Heater were appointed as the Library Materials Budget Subcommittee. The committee, after review and analysis of the library materials inflation, and the current state of the university's budget, prepared a budget resolution requesting the library materials budget be increased sufficiently to offset inflation and to maintain the current subscription base in the 2004-2005 fiscal year.
  3. The resolution for library materials budget FY 2005 was approved and forwarded to the FS University Budget committee.

B. Policy Review and Discussion. The following policies were discussed:

  1. Material Recall Policy
  2. Reserves Policy
  3. Electronic Reserves Copyright

C. Committee Governance and Process

  1. Dr. Charles Schwepker was elected to serve as chair with Ms. Allison Norwood serving as vice-chair and Dr. Odin Jurkowski serving as secretary.
  2. The LAC web page for posting minutes and listing of members was made available during the Fall 2003 semester.

D. Dean's Announcements.

  1. The Dean reported on several items at each meeting in order to inform the committee on current events in the library.


Library Advisory Committee @ UCM HOME CHARGE MEMBERS MINUTES


FY 2005-06
- Minutes -
November 20
October 16
January 13

December 9
October 14

FY 2004-05
- Minutes -
April 11
March 14
January 10
November 15
October 18

FY 2003-04
Annual Report

- Minutes -
January 26
November 24
October 27
September 29

FY 2002-03
Annual Report

- Minutes -
April 3
March 6
February 6
November 20
October 23
September 25

Visit the UCM Home Page