The purpose of the Faculty Senate Library Advisory Committee is to advise the Dean of Library Services, to serve as a liaison between the library and the academic units, and to review and recommend allocation of the library materials budget.

On the nine member committee there is one representative from each of the five university units, one representative of the professional staff, one representative of the support staff, a graduate student representative, and a Student Government Association representative. The members were:


Dr. Robert Ohrenberg, Chair, College of Applied Sciences and Technology

Mr. Greg Biesemeyer, Support Staff

Ms. Davie Davis, Library/Academic Support

Ms. Kathy Martinez, Graduate Student Association (Fall semester)

Dr. Steven Popejoy, College of Business and Economics

Dr. Shing So, College of Arts & Sciences

Ms. Fran Tipton, Advisor, Graduate Student Association

Ms. Amee Wallace, Student Government Association (Spring semester)

Dr. Bill Wilson, College of Education and Human Services

Mr. Ron Yearns, Professional Staff

Dr. Pal V. Rao, Dean of Library Services, ex-officio


The Committee made the following specific recommendation to the Faculty Senate Advisory Committee for University Budget:

"To increase the Library Materials Budget 10% plus an additional 5% which will be allocated by Library Advisory Committee based on requests presented by departments offering new programs."